top of page

Mind, Body & Soul

In order to establish peace and harmony between mind, body and soul, we have to achieve (/restore) balance between various "Chakras" inside the human body. 


Never question the teacher!

I didn't know much about Chakras inside human body until I read an article about them. Chakras are points in the bodies into which the universal life force (vishwaprana) flows. Without this constant inflow, the body would become dormant and disintegrate–would die. The Chakras are both entrances and exits for the cosmic life power. They are reservoirs and points of intelligent direction of the power. Human body consists of SEVEN major Chakras.


SEVEN CHAKRAS and their functions

1. Root Chakra (The Muladhara Chakra)

The "Root Chakra" is located at the base of the spine. It provides the foundation on which we build our life representing safety, security and stability. The "Muladhara Chakra" deals with the purely physical, atomic structure of the body. Therefore its energies deal with healing, correcting and empowering the very cells and organs of the body. Positive energies of this chakra manifest as insight into all material phenomena and independence of them; negative energies manifest as totally material perceptions and impulses toward avid attachment to material things and disbelief in anything higher than matter.

"Imbalanced attributes would be scattered energies, anxiety and fear".

2. Sacral Chakra (The Swadhishthana Chakra)

The "Sacral Chakra" is located in the spine a little less than midway between the base of the spine and the area opposite the navel. It represents creative and sexual energies. The "Swadhishthana Chakra" deals with neurological energies, emotions and desires, including sex/lust. It involves all that is self-centered and egotistical in a person. Through its purification are corrected those areas of our physical and emotional life. It also deals with the fluids in the body including the lymph and blood in case of an abnormality there. Positive energies of this chakra manifest as gentleness, sensitivity to others’ feelings, helpfulness and even self-sacrifice; negative energies manifest as negative emotions such as anger, resentment, hatred, jealousy, envy and–most of all–lust.


"Imbalanced attributes would be lack of or repressed creativity, sexual dysfunction, withheld intimacy and emotional isolation".

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (The Manipura Chakra)

The "Solar Plexus Cakra" is located in the spine at the point opposite the navel. It represents self-esteem, pleasure, will-power and personal responsibility. The "Manipura Chakra" deals with the metabolism and the assimilative powers of the body. It, too, relates to desires, especially the desire to acquire, control and encompass. It relates to the digestive system as well. Those are the aspects of a person that correction of this chakra can affect. Positive energies of this chakra manifest as strength of will and purpose and a highly developed sense of order and right conduct; negative energies manifest as greed, possessiveness, negative ambition and materialistic involvements.


"Imbalanced attributes would be low self-esteem, control issues, manipulative tendencies and misuse of power".

4. Heart Chakra (The Anahata Chakra)

The "Heart Chakra" is located in the center of the chest. It represents love, self-love and governs our relationships. The "Anahata Chakra" deals with metabolism and controls the cardio-pulmonary system. It too deals with feelings, but feelings of higher affection and altruism. It also deals with the faculty of sight and therefore basic perception as well as lesser intuition. It has a lot to do with the immune and circulatory systems and controls the thymus gland in the center of the chest. Positive energies of this chakra manifest as loving-kindness, generosity, and unselfish actions for the benefit of others; negative energies manifest as the desire to dominate others and to use them for selfish advantage.


"Imbalanced attributes would be depression, difficulty in relationships, and lack of self-discipline".

5. Throat Chakra (The Vishuddha Chakra)

The "Throat Chakra" is located @ the center of the neck. It represents our ability to speak and communicate clearly and effectively. The "Vishuddha Chakra" deals with intellectual development and the power of speech. It controls the thyroid gland . The "will" is involved to some extent. Higher intuition comes into play to some extent, as well. Positive energies of this chakra manifest as wise, uplifting and healing speech, words that have the power to manifest what is being spoken; negative energies manifest as foolish, meaningless words, lies, manipulative and negative, harmful speech.


"Imbalanced attributes would be shyness, being withdrawn, arrogance and increased anxiety". 

6. Third Eye Chakra (The Ajna Chakra)​

The "Third Eye Chakra" is located at the point between the eyebrows–the “third eye. It represents intuition, foresight, and is driven by openness and imagination. The "Ajna Chakra" controls, coordinates and partakes of all the functions of those beneath it. It particularly deals with spiritual intuition and spiritual will. Positive energies of this chakra manifest as clear intuition, spiritual perceptions and spiritual will power; negative energies manifest as chaotic or negative psychic experiences as well as whimsical, capricious and negative applications of will.


"Imbalanced attributes would lack of direction and lack of clarity".

7. Crown Chakra (Sushumna Chakra)

The "Crown Chakra" is located @the top of the head. It represents state of higher consciousness and divine connection. The energies of the "Sushumna Crown Chakra" are purely spiritual and unconditioned by any influences other than our finite spirit and the Infinite Spirit from which we derive our very existence. So there is never any trouble there. It need only be reached and empowered by the Kundalini to establish the precedence of these holy powers over the lower levels of our existence.


"Imbalanced attributes would be cynicism, disregarding what is sacred, closed mindedness, and disconnection with spirit".










These "SEVEN Chakras" are the actual seven gates of the body discussed in the ancient scriptures (see Bhagavad Gita 5:13), not the seven openings found in the body. The "Seven Chakras" are major factors in the subtle energy system of a human being, the ruling power centers, though there are a great number of minor chakras throughout the gross and subtle bodies of each one of us.

We are humans and it is possible to lose this balance once in a while in one or more of the Chakras by overpowering "negative thoughts" or societal pressure. Once you realize loss of balance,  you have to flush out "negative energy (thoughts)" with "positive energy (thoughts)" in order to restore balance between mind, body and soul.

bottom of page